Table of Contents

is the cost of launching a dropshipping store? //

Let’s address a popular dropshipping question : What is the cost to start a dropshipping company?

Dropshipping can be started for as low as $100. A combination of starter plans and free trials, and the willingness to invest in the quality of your products, you can start dropshipping.

However, to borrow from The Big Book of English Expressions Simply because you can does not mean that you should.


This article will discuss the unavoidable expenses that dropshipping stores (legitimately) will have to pay in order to get started. You’ll find an itemized list of dropshipping startup expenses and insights from entrepreneurs to help you understand what to expect.

Shopify allows you to start selling online right away


Get a free trial


What does it cost to dropship?

Dropshipping has made it easier to start a business . Dropshipping allows you to work with suppliers around the globe and sell their products without having to keep inventory. It’s an amazing setup.


It’s so amazing that many people get lost in their dreams of owning a six-figure company that doesn’t require investment.


It’s not easy to start a business that is successful. Dropshipping is possible.



What’s dropshipping?



Dropshipping allows entrepreneurs to set up an online shop and sell products, without the need to buy inventory upfront. Once you have made a sale, you must pay your supplier. The supplier then ships the products directly back to you. A tool such as DSers can connect your store with thousands of suppliers to find products for dropshipping.


Start Your Online Business Today

While you don’t have to take out a second mortgage to dropship, you must put money into your business before it makes money.



Dropshipper corner


Paul Lee, the man behind Husky Beard, has some insight on the costs of starting a business.


Before you can become financially successful, be prepared to lose at least $500. An actual retail store requires a minimum of $10,000 in capital investment before revenue is generated. Therefore, spending $500 to start an ecommerce company can make a significant difference in your life.



Start-up costs for dropshipping businesses


This is the most basic version of a dropshipping shop.


  • Shopify subscription

  • A DSers subscription

Shopify is the most widely used ecommerce platform. We’re also going with DSers as it’s the best AliExpress dropshipping platform.

There’s good news! Shopify offers a free trial. It will cost $39 per monthly, but you can still get started for free. Shopify takes care of the store portion. Let’s now move on to dropshipping.

DSers offers a basic plan span style=”font weight: 400 ;”>. It is limited to 3,000 products, so you won’t be scaling with it. You can get started before you spend your credit card. To access advanced features such as bundle mapping and automatic inventory updates, you will eventually need to upgrade to $19.90 Advanced.

Dropshipping is serious business. You need a Domainspan type=”font-weight 400 ;”>. Shopify allows you to purchase a domain for $14 per year.


If you’re willing to do it cheaply, your store launch costs will look something like this:


Shopify free trial + Free DSers Plan = Free


After a little bit of work, we can now look at


$39/month Shopify Basic + $14 Domain + $19.90/month Advanced Ders = $72.90

We’d then be paying $48.90 per month after that Shopify and DSers charges, plus the $14 domain.



Dropshipper corner


Let’s stop this math class and hear Tim Vangness, Dropshipping Guru, creator of this dropshipping YouTube Channel:



For your first store, don’t spend hundreds on custom photos, logos and website designs. Start-up costs should not be prohibitive. The only upfront costs are to purchase your product and register your domain. Shopify and Google offer free trials that can be used to create an email address for your store. It is important to take custom photos and videos of the products you want to use in your product pages, ads, product reviews, and product reviews. You can do this with any modern smartphone.



Dropshipping product validation costs


This is where you get to eat your vegetables. Just as nobody will force you into eating your daily vegetable intake, no one will force you into ordering your dropshipping products.


You should still do it.

Dropshipping offers the unique advantage of not having to handle the products that you sell. While this might solve one of the biggest challenges of commerce (having cool products to sell), it introduces a new set of considerations–namely, you don’t control the quality of the products, the timeliness of delivery, or the appearance of the packaging.

We recommend that you set aside time and money to purchase the products you will be selling at your store.

This allows you to get to know the suppliers. You can ask questions after you have placed your order. For example, when can you expect your order to arrive? Is it damaged in any way? Would you buy it?


You can sell your products once you have them in stock. Display them. Photograph people holding them. Ask your friends to tell you what they think and how much they would pay span>


So how much will you pay to eat your dropshipping vegetables? You don’t have to purchase every variant of every product. You can order one color if you have yellow, red, or blue dresses from the same supplier. It’s a good idea, however, to order at most one sample from each supplier whose products your store will be selling.


Let’s assume that this will cost you, um, $75.


This upfront cost is mainly a charge. If we add it to the above-mentioned store infrastructure costs, our dropshipping business balance sheet will look like this:


$72.90 (Shopify+domain+DSers) + $75 (product validation costs) = $150 give or take


We can anticipate to pay about $150 per month.



Dropshipper corner


Tim Kock is an expert in dropshipping. He has some great advice about test orders.

Dropshipping is a business where you don’t have to manage your inventory. Your suppliers will ship your products right to your doorstep. It’s a good idea to test order products you are considering selling. You will be able to walk through the whole purchasing process just as your customers do when they place orders. This will allow you to check the quality and shipping times of the products and even take customized product images. It really helps to elevate your store .”


Dropshipping store improvement costs


The $150 you spent on your site will only get you so far. To get the functionality you need, you might have to install apps. Shopify and DSers, for example, don’t offer bulk discounts.


Sure, there are ways around this. It is possible to offer a product that actually contains five items, and then sell the quintet at a lower price than purchasing five individual items. You don’t want your business built on workarounds. Your store should be simple to navigate for shoppers, and for you to use.

Sometimes it is worth spending a little bit to download Shopify apps

Shopify App Store has a wide range of apps that can be used to solve any problem, upgrade, or tweak you might need. Let’s take a look at some of the most requested features for store owners, and a small selection of the apps that can help make them happen.


Cross-selling and upselling


Cross-selling refers to offering a product/service that is related to what the customer already bought. Upselling is a strategy to encourage customers to purchase an upgraded, more costly version of a previously purchased item. These methods are designed to increase the average order value (AOV) of a merchant.


Shopify offers great cross-selling and upselling apps:


Bulk Pricing


Bulk pricing is basically discounted pricing that customers who buy large quantities of products can access prior to checkout. Dropshipping stores can offer bulk pricing to encourage customers to purchase more products and return for more.


Shopify apps allow bulk pricing to be implemented easily, such as


Exit intent


Exit intent is a smart behavioral technology that delivers an attractive offer to visitors who are about to leave your site. It monitors the mouse movements of website visitors, and determines when the cursor moves to top of screen to close browser window.


Shopify offers several apps that offer exit-intent technology.

  • Wheelio (14.92/month).
  • Spin-a-Sale ($9.99/month)
  • Smart Popup Builder ($29/month)

This stuff is not necessary, but if you want to offer discounts to customers who buy 10 or more products than one, then this app will be a great option. A bulk pricing app would cost about $20 per month. Let’s add that to our initial costs.


$150 (opening a store + checking out products) + $20 ($a must-have application) = $170

After the first four to six week, we are now at $170.


Dropshipping Marketing Costs–The Biggie


Every product we have seen so far has been tagged with a price. Marketing doesn’t.


It is impossible to estimate how much marketing money you will need. However, there are some assumptions we can make to estimate the amount of marketing money needed.

Globally, the conversion rate for ecommerce is between 2% to 3%. This will vary depending on the niche and country. Let’s assume that the conversion rate is 2.5%. This means that if you have 200 people visit your store, you can expect five to buy something. How can we bring in 200 customers to our store? Marketing.

Dropshippers currently use Facebook as their main marketing channel. Let’s take a look at how to drive 200 customers to your store via the platform. WordStream estimates that the average click-through rate for Facebook ads is 0.9%. Let’s say your ads are great and you have a 1% CTR.


Your ad must reach at least 20,000 people in order to attract 200 people to your store. The cost of 20,000 impressions depends on the target audience. Reaching US Facebook users is more expensive than reaching Singaporean users.

According the marketing software provider Advertising Stagespan-style=”font weight: 400 ;”>, in Q4 2017, the average cost per 1,000 impressions (CPM), was $12.45 Let’s just call it a tidy $12.50. We now have an equation.


(20,000/1000) x 12.50 = 250


These averages show that we need to spend $250 on Facebook advertising in order to generate five Facebook sales.

You have many levers you can use to manipulate these numbers and increase profit. Make great ads. Your ads will be clicked more often if they are well-crafted and your cost per click (CPC) will drop. We can help you do your homework and create high-impact ads.

Target countries with lower CPM rates. Dropshipping has been successful in many countries, not just the ones you know.

There are several steps you can take that will increase your conversion rate and increase your average order value in your store. One way to encourage people to buy is to design easy-to-use product pages. This would increase the 2.5% conversion rate we mentioned earlier.


To increase your average order value, you can also use cross-selling or upselling apps. These will be a bit more expensive, but with a few good upsells per monthly–not an unreasonable goal–they will pay for themselves.



Dropshipper corner



Here are some marketing tips from another dropshipper.

Matiss Ozerskis, founder of Artsy Wall, is pictured here

.


According to my experience, the budget for the first three to six month should be approximately $1,000. Marketing should be the main focus. I would recommend that about half to 80% of this budget go towards testing Instagram influencers or Facebook ads. Rest should be used for plug-ins and domain costs. If you are new to this business model and Shopify, then you can also take some courses.



Dropshipping Website Cost: Our verdict

It’s not a good idea to spend money on ecommerce stores if you think it will be free or if you forget that this is a business venture. You should remember that the money you invest in your store is an investment. You invest in things whether you are buying stocks or opening stores.

You’ll never stop making money from ecommerce if you stay with it. Once your price-breaks app has worked, you will want to add a cross-selling application. You’ll need to invest in marketing automation technology as your Facebook campaigns grow. We haven’t even mentioned email marketing, premium Shopify themes or logo design tools such as Hatchful.


It is difficult to predict how much you will earn or how long it takes to recover them. As expenses rise from the double digits to the triple digits, remember that there is no “free” way to start a business. It’s not a good idea to start a business.


Tim Vangness will sign off with

You must use your sales to make a profit once you have started to make sales. To cover costs such as returns (every large business will have them!), and to cover any unexpected costs, set aside a portion of your revenue. The rest of your profits should be used to grow your business. These will be divided into two areas.


First, improve your business’s infrastructure. This includes your website design and email marketing software. While these services can be costly, once you make a profit, it can greatly improve customer retention and conversion rates. This will allow you to make more money and your paid advertising can be more aggressive than your competitors. You can calculate the lifetime value of each customer as opposed to the profit of one sale.


Dropshipping Startup Costs FAQ


How can you open a dropshipping business for free?

Yes, but only if you have already signed up for ecommerce hosting. Depending on the provider you use, you may be able find apps that allow you to connect with suppliers and add a limited number of products to dropshipping stores for free.


Dropshipping is still profitable in 2023.

Dropshipping is still a lucrative business, judging by the positive market outlook. Grand View Research predicts the global dropshipping market to be worth $557.9 million in just a few years. Dropshipping is a great way to make a steady income and avoid the traditional route of ecommerce.

Would you like to learn more?

David Vranicar
Author: David Vranicar

Honeyhat Icon
Need Help Finding B2B Service Provider?

Claim This Business:

Go Pool Pros